NURSE WITH WOUND

Gyllensköld, Geijerstam And I At Rydberg’s

29,0035,00

Notes

CETTE PRE-COMMANDE SERA ENVOYEE LE 25 NOVEMBRE 2020 si les tee shirts sont prêt




Effacer

Nurse With Wound – Gyllensköld, Geijerstam And I At Rydberg’s – 200g 2LP – Silver Collection – album augmenté

Titres :
A1. SEVERAL ODD MOMENTS PRIOR TO LUNCH (9:48)
A2. PHENOMENON OF AQUARIUM AND BEARDED LADY (5:32)
B1. DIRTY FINGERNAILS (15:42)
C1. ODD (2:41)
C2. AQUARIUM (5:58)
C3. DIRTY FINGERNAILS (10:33)
D1. JOURNEY THROUGH CHEESE (20:20)

Cette période de 1983 au cours de laquelle Gyllensköld a été enregistré a été une période fantastique pour l’évolution de l’art audio de Steven Stapleton. Ses collaborations avec Diana Rogerson, Robert Haigh (Sema), David Tibet et Thirlwell à cette époque ont suscité certaines des œuvres les plus passionnantes que Nurse With Wound ait jamais enregistrées. Écoutez ce matériel et comparez-le à Chance Meeting et il devient clair qu’en quelques années à peine, l’art de Stapleton a grandi à pas de géant. La qualité de production sur ces pistes est remarquable, et l’élargissement du monde sonore NWW a ouvert une toute nouvelle boîte à jouets audio que Stapleton a continué à expérimenter jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Ce nouveau son englobe des expériences vocales, des LP vintage de musique facile à écouter, des comptines démentes, des références latérales à la musique pop jetable, du jazz avant-gardiste et de la composition minimaliste pour piano, le tout collé avec des atmosphères évocatrices évoquant des choses impies, troublantes et perverses, mais toujours étrangement indéfinissable et curieusement difforme. Rétrospectivement, Gyllensköld peut être vu comme le début de la période « mature » de NWW, et donc c’est une version indispensable pour les fans du projet.

Peut-être influencé par les obsessions de son ami et collaborateur Tibet, Stapleton a également commencé à tisser des références religieuses et occultes dans son habituelle dénonciation des artistes et mouvements d’avant-garde. Le titre de Gyllensköld est tiré d’une entrée du journal intime occulte du dramaturge August Strindberg, un volume qui représente soit le compte rendu de l’exploration de la magie et du mysticisme par un grand écrivain, soit les gribouillages hallucinogènes d’un homme aux prises avec une psychose paranoïaque extrême, selon le point de vue. De même, Gyllensköld de NWW est parfois la bande-son d’un épisode schizoïde : des voix désincarnées entonnent des absurdités, flottent subliminalement sur les chaînes stéréo ou ricanent dans un plaisir malsain. Les sons sont ici plus denses que sur des œuvres antérieures comme Homotopy To Marie. Les zones de silence ont pour la plupart disparu, remplacées par des couches de bourdon, des bruits de dessins animés et des voix mutantes. « Several Odd Moments Prior to Lunch » ouvre le bref album, ouvrant la voie avec sa voix lysergiquement altérée et un effrayant abîme de son spectral hanté. Stapleton, Thirlwell et compagnie ont appris à manier le studio comme un instrument sur ces enregistrements et d’autres de l’époque. Des effets tels que la réverbération, le retard, la modulation en anneau et le suivi à rebours sont utilisés pour créer des textures évolutives et des espaces de rêve sombres et psychédéliques.

« Phenomenon of Aquarium and Bearded Lady » utilise un certain nombre d’instruments, dont des cors et un piano, pour créer un étrange chant funèbre disloqué dans lequel les sons d’un diable à cycle lent ne sont pas déplacés. Pour les fans de musiciens comme Jacques Berrocal, qui préfèrent leur free jazz avec une bonne dose d’excentricité, c’est à peu près tout ce qu’il y a de mieux. « Dirty Fingernails » est une autre histoire, une exploration de longue haleine de textures outrées, combinant des bruits d’aigus mystérieux avec des bleeps percutants d’origine mystérieuse. Tout cela ressemble à la bande-son d’un rituel alchimique exécuté par des cyborgs victoriens branlants dans un tunnel de métro abandonné à la fin des temps. En d’autres termes, le territoire de Prime Nurse With Wound.

NURSE WITH WOUND

Gyllensköld, Geijerstam And I At Rydberg’s

29,0035,00

Notes

THIS PRE-ORDER WILL BE SENT ON NOVEMBER 25, 2020 if tee shirts are ready




Clear

Nurse With Wound – Gyllensköld, Geijerstam And I At Rydberg’s – 200g 2LP – Silver Collection – augmented album

Tracks
A1. SEVERAL ODD MOMENTS PRIOR TO LUNCH (9:48)
A2. PHENOMENON OF AQUARIUM AND BEARDED LADY (5:32)
B1. DIRTY FINGERNAILS (15:42)
C1. ODD (2:41)
C2. AQUARIUM (5:58)
C3. DIRTY FINGERNAILS (10:33)
D1. JOURNEY THROUGH CHEESE (20:20)

This 1983 period in which Gyllensköld was recorded was a fantastic time for the evolution of Steven Stapleton’s audio art. His collaborations with Diana Rogerson, Robert Haigh (Sema), David Tibet, and Thirlwell around this time elicited some of the most exciting work Nurse With Wound had yet recorded. Listen to this material and compare it to Chance Meeting and it becomes clear that in just a few years, Stapleton’s art had grown by leaps and bounds. The production quality on these tracks is remarkable, and the widening out of the NWW soundworld opened up a whole new audio toybox that Stapleton has continued to experiment with up to today. This new sound encompasses vocal experiments, vintage LPs of easy listening music, demented nursery rhymes, lateral references to disposable pop music, avant-garde jazz and minimalistic piano composition, all glued together with evocative atmospheres redolent of things unholy, troubling and perverse, but always oddly indefinable and puzzlingly misshapen. In retrospect, Gyllensköld can be seen as the beginning of the “mature” period of NWW, and thus it is an indispensible release for fans of the project.

Perhaps influenced by the obsessions of his friend and collaborator Tibet, Stapleton also began weaving religious and occult references into his usual name-dropping of avant-garde artists and movements. The title of Gyllensköld was taken from an entry in dramatist August Strindberg’s Occult Diary, a volume which represents either the record of a great writer’s exploration of magic and mysticism, or the hallucinogenic scrawlings of a man in the grips of extreme paranoid psychosis, depending on your point of view. Similarly, NWW’s Gyllensköld comes across at times as the soundtrack to a schizoid episode: disembodied voices intoning nonsense, floating subliminally across the stereo channels, or cackling in evil delight. The sounds are denser here than on earlier works such as Homotopy To Marie. Areas of silence are mostly gone, replaced by layers of drone, cartoonish noises and mutated voices. “Several Odd Moments Prior to Lunch” opens the brief album, setting the stage with its lysergically altered vocals and a frightening, yawning chasm of haunted, spectral sound. Stapleton, Thirlwell, and company learned how to wield the studio like an instrument on these and other recordings of the period. Effects such as reverb, delay, ring modulation and backwards tracking are utilized to create evolving textures and darkly psychedelic dreamspaces.

“Phenomenon of Aquarium and Bearded Lady” utilizes a number of instruments, including horns and piano, to create a bizarre dislocated funeral dirge in which the sounds of a slowly cycling jack-in-the-box are not out of place. For fans of musicians like Jacques Berrocal, who prefer their free jazz with a heavy dose of whacked-out eccentricity, this is about as good as it gets. “Dirty Fingernails” is something else entirely, a longform exploration of outré textures, combining mysterious trebly noises with percussive bleeps of mysterious origin. It all comes across like the soundtrack to an alechemical ritual performed by rickety Victorian-era cyborgs in an abandoned subway tunnel at the end of time. In other words, prime Nurse With Wound territory.

source : Brainwashed